The International Alliance of Museums of the Silk Road was jointly initiated by three international organizations, namely, the Special Committee of Museums of the Silk Road of Chinese Museums Association (with 69 member units), the International Association for the Study of Silk Road Textiles (with 28 member units), and the International Friendly Alliance of Museums of the Silk Road (with 54 member units), in addition to one Pakistani museum, and one Tanzanian museum. It has 158 member units, including 47 international organizations and 111 domestic organizations.

The Alliance will play an active role in themed exhibitions, information sharing, joint research, specialist exchange, and talent cultivation regarding cultural heritage in countries and regions along the Silk Road. By so doing it aims to boost international cooperation among museums along the Silk Road, strengthen ties and cooperation among museum-related international organizations, raise public awareness of and engagement in cross-cultural communication and cooperation, and cement the people-to-people bond along the Silk Road.

Wang Chunfa

Director of National Museum of China  

Huang Zhenchun

Secretary General
Deputy Director of National Museum of China

An Laishun

Vice President
Secretary General of Chinese Museums Association

Zhao Feng

Vice President
Director of China National Silk Museum

Wu Zhiyue

Vice President
Director of Fujian Museum

Wang Bin

Vice President
Director of Tang West Market Museum